Stages of Grief Term Paper by Nicky

Stages of Grief
A discussion of the stages of grief following the loss of a loved one.
# 128144 | 1,764 words | 6 sources | APA | 2010 | US
Published on Jun 30, 2010 in Women Studies (Marriage) , Psychology (General)

$19.95 Buy and instantly download this paper now


This paper examines the stages of grief and other psychological models of coping with loss. First, the paper describes Elisabeth Kubler-Ross's five-stage model of dealing with loss which includes denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. Then, other theories and research based on her work are presented and critiqued. The paper notes, however, that almost all of these models possess more similarities than differences, as all reconfigure the Kubler-Ross model. Also explored is the role one's culture plays on the individual's ability to cope with bereavement. The paper concludes by citing recent studies that show reactions to loss are unique to the individual.

From the Paper:

"Advocates of the Kubler-Ross model stress that no matter what stages a bereaved person may go through, every grief-stricken person needs to accept their loved one's death after a period of inevitable turmoil. "Acceptance means being able to remember what you lost but still being able to move on with your life," counsels one website devoted to the Kubler-Ross Model ("The 5 stages,"2006, Lifescript.). The model was designed to prevent people from getting stuck in one particular stage, like denial or depression, or cycling back into previous stages. Getting 'stuck' in depression in more emotionally repressive or less expressive cultures is more common, versus anger in more emotionally expressive cultures, but the danger of getting 'stuck' is common everywhere loss occurs ("Kubler-Ross Grief Cycle," 2008, Changing Minds). Recognizing the need to change as well as the dynamic nature of grief is seen another contribution of Kubler-Ross."

Sample of Sources Used:

  • The 5 stages. (2006, 11 September). Lifescript. Retrieved 17 Oct 2008 at
  • Bower, Bruce. (1991). Bereavement: how strength saps coping - study of how adults cope with the death of a spouse. Science News. Retrieved through 17 Oct. 2008
  • Frequency of depression after the death of a spouse. (1992, March). American Family Physician. Retrieved through at 17 Oct. 2008
  • Kubler-Ross Grief Cycle. (2008). Changing Minds. Retrieved 17 Oct 2008 at
  • Jeffers, Steven L. (2001). Stages of grief: Fact or fiction? Kansas Nurse. Retrieved through 17 Oct. 2008

Cite this Term Paper:

APA Format

Stages of Grief (2010, June 30) Retrieved November 28, 2023, from

MLA Format

"Stages of Grief" 30 June 2010. Web. 28 November. 2023. <>