Development of Cognitive Psychology Term Paper by Nicky

A brief overview of the four key milestones in the development of cognitive psychology.
# 145952 | 747 words | 4 sources | APA | 2010 | US
Published on Dec 08, 2010 in Psychology (Theory)

$19.95 Buy and instantly download this paper now


The paper discusses four major developmental periods of cognitive psychology, specifically, that of introspection, behaviorism, structuralism and functionalism. The paper shows how each stage was a key milestone in the development of cognitive psychology.

Summary and Conclusion

From the Paper:

"Introspection was first stated by Wilhelm Wundt in a 1907 paper that criticized the Wurzburg psychologists' thought experiments. Wundt stated four rules for the introspective practice as follows: (1) the introspective observer must be able to decide for himself at what point to begin observing the mental process under investigation; (2) the observer must be in a state of heightened attention; (3) each observation must be repeated again and again under the same conditions; and (4) circumstances under which the phenomenon occurs must be investigated by varying the accompanying experimental situations. Wundt's rules and practices for scientific introspection are related to contemporary debates in cognitive science over the nature and proper use of introspection."

Sample of Sources Used:

  • Eysenck, Michael W. and Keane, Mark T. (2000) Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook. Taylor & Francis, 2000.
  • Leahey, Thomas H. (1986) Wundt on Introspection: Reflection on Current Controversy. Education Resources Information Center ERIC.
  • Logan, G.D. (2009) Cognitive Psychology. Elservier Online available at:
  • Wagner, Kendra Van (2009) Structuralism and Functionalism. Psychology Online available at:

Cite this Term Paper:

APA Format

Development of Cognitive Psychology (2010, December 08) Retrieved December 04, 2022, from

MLA Format

"Development of Cognitive Psychology" 08 December 2010. Web. 04 December. 2022. <>