Healthy Grieving Research Paper

Healthy Grieving
A discussion on Dr. Kubler-Ross's grieving process, the Bible story of Job, and Buddhist beliefs and practices.
# 154179 | 1,097 words | 5 sources | 2015 | US
Published on May 04, 2015 in Medical and Health (Nursing)

$19.95 Buy and instantly download this paper now

From the Paper:

"Grief is a common emotion and experienced by most, if not every, individual at some point in their lives. How this emotion is handled and dealt with can greatly affect an individual's life positively or negatively. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, a doctor who worked closely with terminally ill individuals, researched the emotion of grief and created a grieving model that would help guide an individual through the grieving process in a healthy and beneficial way (Buglass, 2010). Dr. Kubler-Ross named this model "the five stages of grief," which includes denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance (Kubler-Ross & Kessler, 2012).
"According to Dr. Kubler-Ross, the first stage of the grieving process is denial. Denial is an individual's first instinct when faced with something shocking or traumatic to our system or sense of being. It acts as a protective shield from the more intense emotions that are likely to follow an unexpected loss or devastating news (Kubler-Ross, 2012). The second stage, anger, can present itself in many different ways, but the root emotions of resentment and jealousy of those not experiencing the same grief is the same in every process. An individual may even direct their anger towards the individual lost who, to the individual grieving, has caused them to experience these painful emotions. Third stage, bargaining, is explained as an individual willing to give up or change self or circumstance in trade for regaining what has been lost. Fourth stage, depression, is experiencing overwhelming emotion of hopelessness and sadness. The individual in this stage of grief may present as uninterested in things they once enjoyed, unmotivated, and a lack of care in their physical appearance. The fifth and final stage is acceptance. An individual enters this stage when they are finally able to accept the loss for what it is and are able to move forward in their life."

Cite this Research Paper:

APA Format

Healthy Grieving (2015, May 04) Retrieved January 16, 2022, from

MLA Format

"Healthy Grieving" 04 May 2015. Web. 16 January. 2022. <>