Post-Modern Literature Essay by Ace writers

Post-Modern Literature
An examination of three authors - Jorge Luis Borges, Zadie Smith, and Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill - and a discussion of whether their works can be considered post-modern.
# 46728 | 2,108 words | 6 sources | MLA | 2004 | US
Published on Jan 20, 2004 in Literature (Comparative Literature)

$19.95 Buy and instantly download this paper now


To consider what makes a work post-modern, a definition of post-modernity is provided. This is followed with an analysis of the works of three post-modern authors, one an author of short stories, one a novelist, and the third a poet. By analyzing these three authors, the aspects that make a work post-modern are highlighted, while also showing the variation that occurs within the category.

From the Paper:

"This definition highlights three common features of postmodernism. The first is the lack of clear meaning in texts, with postmodernist writers often creating works that do not have a clear theme, nor clear resolutions, or even plots. In many cases, postmodern writers do not focus on communicating a specific point. Instead, they may be content just to present a story and allow the reader to determine what it means for themselves. The second common feature of postmodernism relates to the structure of the works created. The main element is not a specific type of structure, but rather a lack of structure. Works not classed as postmodern generally have specific common elements. For example, a short story generally has a plot, characters, a climax and a resolution. In the postmodern work, these features may or may not be present. The main element that is apparent in postmodern works is often a lack of the structural elements expected in literature. The final common feature is that a sense of confusion or a search for meaning is often apparent in postmodern works."

Cite this Essay:

APA Format

Post-Modern Literature (2004, January 20) Retrieved October 03, 2022, from

MLA Format

"Post-Modern Literature" 20 January 2004. Web. 03 October. 2022. <>