Developmental Fear History Essay by BrainC

Developmental Fear History
A discussion of developmental fear and the theories of Erik Erikson, who is famous for his studies in this area.
# 53155 | 2,102 words | 4 sources | MLA | 2004 | US
Published on Oct 15, 2004 in Sociology (General) , Medical and Health (General) , Child, Youth Issues (General)

$19.95 Buy and instantly download this paper now


This paper explains that Erik Erikson's theory explains how the sense of self that develops in the course of life both relates and sets apart an individual from his or her social environment. The paper then looks at each of the eight stages of development as theorized by Erikson. Erikson's eight stages are: Infancy (Age 0-1); Toddler (Age 1-2); Early Childhood (Age 2-6); Elementary and Middle School Years (Age 6-12); Adolescence (Age 12-18); Young Adulthood (Age 19-40); Middle Adulthood (Age 40-65); and Late Adulthood (Age 65 to Death).

From the Paper:

"The next stage or crisis that an individual must navigate occurs during the toddler years. In this phase, psychosocial development depends on the successful resolution of autonomy versus doubt or shame, which results due to dramatic changes in physical and language abilities. The natural development of early motor and cognitive skills leads to toddlers experimenting with decreasing their dependence on parents and other adult caregivers. The toddler's desire for more autonomy leads to "an extensive negotiation process between the young child and the caregiver, the one demanding to "do it self mommy" and the other feeling the need to protect the child from harm". When parents are able to allow the toddler to develop growing competence, self-confidence emerges."

Cite this Essay:

APA Format

Developmental Fear History (2004, October 15) Retrieved July 04, 2022, from

MLA Format

"Developmental Fear History" 15 October 2004. Web. 04 July. 2022. <>