Performance by "Cosmos Trios" Descriptive Essay by ABCs

Performance by "Cosmos Trios"
A personal review and reflection of a performance by the musical group known as "Cosmos Trios."
# 114252 | 999 words | 4 sources | MLA | 2009 | US
Published on Jun 03, 2009 in Music Studies (Contemporary) , Music Studies (Composers)

$19.95 Buy and instantly download this paper now


This paper describes a performance that the writer attended on August 29, 2008 of the musical group known as the "Cosmos Trio." It specifically discusses the four works that they played at the concert: the "Petite Suite" (2007), a work known as "Beautiful, Sweet, Delicate for Flute, Viola, and Harp" (2005), "Trio in Four Movements for Flute, Viola and Harp" (2006), and "A Columbus Triptych" (2006).

From the Paper:

"Overall, the reception of the works reflected the soothing rather than urgent quality of the pieces that were played. One problem with Cosmos Trio in performance might be that the viola and the harp do not have a wide audio range, and a flute is too quiet an instrument to provide a truly driving melody. The works, although skillfully played by exceptional musicians ultimately made an argument for the reason that most chamber groupings feature the more tonally rich and vibrant violin, viola, and cello rather than showcase the viola and the harp as the primary instruments over the course of an entire performance."

Sample of Sources Used:

  • "Biography." Stephen Paulus Website. 2 Sept 2008.
  • Klein, Andrew. "I am: Andrew Boysen. Jr." 2 Sept 2008.
  • "Stephen Main." Official Website. 2 Sept 2008.
  • 'What's New?" Cosmos 2 Sept 2008.

Cite this Descriptive Essay:

APA Format

Performance by "Cosmos Trios" (2009, June 03) Retrieved September 29, 2022, from

MLA Format

"Performance by "Cosmos Trios"" 03 June 2009. Web. 29 September. 2022. <>