Joseph Brahms' "Symphony No.1" Descriptive Essay by Quality Writers

Joseph Brahms' "Symphony No.1"
This paper reviews Joseph Brahms' "Symphony No.1" as specifically performed by the Toronto Symphony Orchestra under Conductor Rafael Frunbeck de Burgos, March 22, 2007.
# 102853 | 1,185 words | 4 sources | MLA | 2008 | US
Published on Apr 03, 2008 in Music Studies (Classical and Baroque)

$19.95 Buy and instantly download this paper now


This paper explains that on the same program as the Brahms "Symphony No.1" were two other works by Spanish composers, Issac Albeniz and Joaquin Turina, which presented a deliberate counterpoint between Spanish and German music that reflects the guest conductor's dual heritage. The author points out that Johannes Brahms' (1833-1897) "Symphony No.1" reflects to an extraordinary degree the composer's personal relationship with the legacy of earlier giants such as Beethoven and Schubert. The paper relates that the "Symphony No.1" is comprised of four movements, which reflects Brahms' allegiance to classical forms; however, the intense unity of the overall work seems to be more of an expression of Brahms' personal technique. The author underscores that scholars argue that the dynamic optimism that is so characteristic of Beethoven's symphonies is revisited by Brahms in a far more melancholic, late nineteenth century manner

From the Paper:

"The significance of the Spanish works to the Brahms' symphony, which was highlighted in the course of the intermission, was an interview-like session conducted in the lobby with two members of the TSO who talked about the program and about Frunbeck de Burgos' conducting of the works. These two TSO members - a violinist and a flautist (I believe) - noted that the Spanish pieces were carefully chosen as a counterpoint to the Brahms. Frunbeck de Burgos' work with the TSO in rehearsal, they noted, was very different with both of these pieces; one noting jokingly that de Burgos stood straighter and was more serious with Brahms than with the passionate Spanish works."

Sample of Sources Used:

  • Anderson, Don. "Issac Albeniz: Suite espanola arr. Rafael Frunbeck de Burgos." In Toronto Symphony Orchestra: Performance March-May 2007, p.5.
  • Bazzana, Kevin. "Joaquin Turina: Danzas fantasticas, Op.22." In Toronto Symphony Orchestra: Performance March-May 2007, p.6.
  • Bazzana, Kevin. "Johannes Brahms: Symphony No.1 in C minor, Op.68." In Toronto Symphony Orchestra: Performance March-May 2007, p.7.
  • Callis, Sarah. "Brahms: A German Requiem and Brahms: Symphony No.1." Music Analysis. 18.2 (1999), 289-298.
  • Politoske, Daniel. Music Fourth Edition. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1988.

Cite this Descriptive Essay:

APA Format

Joseph Brahms' "Symphony No.1" (2008, April 03) Retrieved February 06, 2023, from

MLA Format

"Joseph Brahms' "Symphony No.1"" 03 April 2008. Web. 06 February. 2023. <>