Political Structure of Poland Analytical Essay by The Research Group

Political Structure of Poland
A comprehensive overview of the political structure of Poland.
# 71488 | 2,300 words | 5 sources | MLA | 2006 | US
Published on Dec 01, 2006 in Political Science (General) , European Studies (General)

$19.95 Buy and instantly download this paper now


This paper looks at the political structure of Poland, including the country's history, its government structure, institutions, political processes and relationship with the United States. The paper describes Poland's democratic reforms but relates that Polish government officials are still challenged by slow GDP growth and high levels of unemployment. The paper includes an annotated bibliography.


From the Paper:

"Poland's legislative branch is similar to the U.S. Congress in a number of ways. The bicameral national legislature embodies an upper house (Senate) and a lower house (Sejm), with 100 and 460 members respectively (Own and Katzman 4). Members of both the Sejm and Senate are elected to four-year terms, with Senators elected by a majority vote and members of the Sejm elected by proportional representation. The political structure of contemporary Poland also includes an electoral system that permits universal direct suffrage for all citizens over the age of 18. The most recent parliamentary and presidential elections occurred in September and October, 2005, respectively. On the rare occasions when the two houses meet at the same time, the national legislature is known as the "National Assembly" (Poland 6). Ethnic minority parties are granted two seats only in the Sejm. In 1992, an interim "small constitution" came into effect that represented the first non-communist constitution for Poland in four decades (Political 13). The interim or "small constitution" was replaced on April 2, 1997, when the National Assembly adopted a new democratic constitution that passed by popular referendum on May 25, 1997 (Political 13).
"The new Constitution reformed the administration division, revised election ordinances, and liquidated a national list where all deputies were elected by voters in constituencies (Government 9-10). The new Constitution also established a new way of calculating seats in Parliament, known as the "St. Lague" method (Government 10). The St. Lague method stipulates that "with the exception of guaranteed seats for small ethnic parties, only parties receiving at least 5% of the total vote could enter parliament" (Government 10). The government is committed to a democratic political system, with new prime minister and presidential elections held every five years."

Cite this Analytical Essay:

APA Format

Political Structure of Poland (2006, December 01) Retrieved April 17, 2024, from https://www.academon.com/analytical-essay/political-structure-of-poland-71488/

MLA Format

"Political Structure of Poland" 01 December 2006. Web. 17 April. 2024. <https://www.academon.com/analytical-essay/political-structure-of-poland-71488/>