Erikson's Theory of Psychosocial Development Analytical Essay by Top Papers

Erikson's Theory of Psychosocial Development
A look at Erikson's theory of psychosocial development.
# 136593 | 1,000 words | 4 sources | APA | 2007 | US
Published on Dec 01, 2007 in Education (Development Studies) , Psychology (Piaget) , Psychology (Social) , Sociology (General)

$19.95 Buy and instantly download this paper now


In this article, the writer describes Erikson's eight stages of psychosocial development to an advertiser and then illustrates using TV characters at each stage. Different members of the caste of the TV show '7th Heaven' are used to illustrate the eight stages. Three articles are then briefly summarized with an explanation of how each supports the use of Erikson's model.

From the Paper:

"Erik Erikson, like Jean Piaget and Sigmund Freud believed that people went through different stages as they grew up and matured. Unlike Freud who focused on sexual development and Piaget who focused on cognitive development, Erikson focused on social development. His theory of Psychosocial Development posits that there are eight distinct stages of life that we each go through. At each stage there are challenges to our feelings of self-competence that we must meet or the result are feeling of incompetence and inadequacy until we are able to meet this test."

Cite this Analytical Essay:

APA Format

Erikson's Theory of Psychosocial Development (2007, December 01) Retrieved October 20, 2021, from

MLA Format

"Erikson's Theory of Psychosocial Development" 01 December 2007. Web. 20 October. 2021. <>