Amy Tan's Life and Works Analytical Essay by Jay Writtings LLC

Amy Tan's Life and Works
This essay looks at Amy Tan's life and examines how aspects of her life are demonstrated through her various works.
# 116289 | 3,283 words | 6 sources | MLA | 2009 | US

$19.95 Buy and instantly download this paper now


In this article, the writer explores the real life of Amy Tan and the translation of her life through her large body of work. The research not only involves biographical information but quotes from her books as they relate to her life and the influence of Asian culture on those works as well as her life. The works that are focused on in this essay include 'The Kitchen God's Wife', 'The Bonesetter's Daughter', 'The Joy Luck Club' and others. The main development of the essay is based upon the comparing qualities found in 'The Joy Luck Club'.

From the Paper:

"After the death of the figurehead of the family and the brother, Tan, her mother Daisy and the younger brother Peter moved to Montreux, Switzerland. As Tan grew older she began to realize the great gap that existed between herself and her mother due to their difference in culture. As Tan grew up she realized that there was much tension between herself and her mother. Tan eventually moved away from home and gained her master's degree in linguistics at San Jose State University. Tan's first job was as a children's speech therapist.
"In the history of Tan's family there is a deep connection between the events of the mother as they relate to the daughter. Tan's own mother Daisy was witness to her mother's suicide. It is through this event and the succession of other events that Tan held the belief that the women of her family, her grandmother, her mother and even herself suffered from depression."

Sample of Sources Used:

  • Lowe, Lisa. The Power of Culture. Journal of Asian American Studies. Vol. 1, No. 1. 1996.
  • Shu, Yuan. Globalization and 'Asian Values': Teaching and Theorizing Asian American Literature. College Literature. Vol. 32, No. 1. Winter 2005.
  • Tan, Amy. The Bonesetter's Daughter. Ballantine Books. 2004.
  • Tan, Amy. The Joy Luck Club. Putnam. 1989.
  • Tan, Amy. The Kitchen God's Wife. Ivy Books. 1992.

Cite this Analytical Essay:

APA Format

Amy Tan's Life and Works (2009, September 09) Retrieved September 24, 2023, from

MLA Format

"Amy Tan's Life and Works" 09 September 2009. Web. 24 September. 2023. <>